Marillion – Misplaced Childhood (1985)

(Keith’s album of the month, July 2011)

I was thinking back to the bands and albums that I really loved when I first started getting into music. My sister had this album on record – a lovely double gatefold sleeve, with great album art. It was no secret that Marillion (and in particular their lead singer, Fish) loved 70s prog rock – Genesis and Yes especially. This came through not only in the album art but also in the music.

It all seems a little overblown now I guess, but the songs are still great. Kayleigh and Lavender were the big singles – the ones that got them onto Top of the Pops, miming of course. But it really is one of those albums that you’re supposed to listen to from start to finish. All the songs flow into each other and it almost feels wrong to stop halfway through.

Here’s some more info on the album.

I loved Marillion for years and years. Anyone else ever cared about Marillion? Or hated them?

3 thoughts on “Marillion – Misplaced Childhood (1985)

  1. Wow! I did not expect to see Marillion on this blog! I guess it takes all sorts though. Obviously there is an emotional link to this album Keef which, at the end of the day, is what it’s all about. Unfortunately, as with most 80s sounding albums, it didn’t do it for me 25 years ago, and doesn’t do it for me now. I couldn’t help thinking that it was so over the top that Fish ends up sounding like Jack Black performing for Tenacious D šŸ™‚

    I hadn’t heard this album before (although the had obviously heard the two singles you mention) so was new ground for me. In fact I was listening to this last night and Kathryn told me that her receptionist was named after the song Kayleigh. Imagine that!

  2. Fair enough. Didn’t really expect others to say they liked this much. They’re one of those bands that if you didn’t get into them at the time then there’s not much chance of starting now. šŸ™‚ The older the band (perhaps unless they are really old, like the Stones for me) the harder it is.

  3. Thank you, Keith, for adding this one. After all these years I had forgotten who sang Kayleigh” and “Lavender.” Those were the only two songs that made it over to the States. And as popular as those songs were in the early 80’s, they weren’t enough to make Marillion a household name like their doppelganger, Genesis (their similarities in sound are startling).

    As a show of solidarity, I could add a Mr. Mister, or a Cutting Crew LP as an Album of the Month. But I fear it wouldn’t work for two reasons. Firstly, you three might refuse to listen out of sheer disgust. And secondly, I still play their albums quite frequently, so they’re automatically disqualified.

Leave a Reply

