Tired Pony – The place we ran from (2010)

Tired Pony - The place we ran fromThis one is growing on me. Gary Lightbody (Snow Patrol’s lead singer) got a bunch of friends together (from Snow Patrol, Belle & Sebastian & REM) to make an Americana album. His voice is lovely as always and the songs, especially in the first half of the album are strong.

Peter Buck is playing in there too and occasionally you can make him out. It’s a bit of a slow burner for me but am starting to hum the songs a while after listening to it. Always a good sign!

They recorded the album in Portland, a place they seem to like. Did you hear anything about them Manny while they were there last year?

If you don’t have it already, it’s worth a listen.

3 thoughts on “Tired Pony – The place we ran from (2010)

  1. I’m glad you uploaded this as I had a few listens online when this came out last year but never got round to getting it. It’s good. It basically sounds like a more brooding, darker Snow Patrol which is no bad thing.

    Interesting fact……..Edith Bowman of Radio 1 fame provides the backing vocals for Held In The Arms of Your Words. After dating Guy Garvey and letting Tom Smith of Editors get her up the duff, she’s certainly quite the Indie Rock groupie!

  2. Had this album for a while but not really gave it too many listens. It is a more depressed Snow Patrol sound, but you can’t beat a bit of Snow Patrol.

    Remind me to tell you a story about Edith Bowman next time…

  3. It’s a Saturday. It’s raining. It’s cold. And I’m working. In other words, it’s a perfect time to catch up on the music I’ve neglected all these many years. I gave this album a quick listen when Keith first posted it on this blog. But I never found the time to study it until now. I’ve given it a few listens this afternoon, and it’s brilliant. Add all the background color to how, where, and with whom this album came about and it makes it that much better.

    No, Keith, the presence of Gary Lightbody & Co. in Portland was lost on me. Celebrities come to and go from this great city, and I’m a clueless denizen. In fact, I only just learned within the past month that Johnny Marr lives in Portland part-time! Ever since he joined Modest Mouse in 2006.

    Well, I’m off to listen to this again, as well unearth other past treasures. Happy 2015, chaps. I hope to see you all at some point this year.

Leave a Reply

