Happy Mondays – Unkle Dysfunktional (2007)

(Stu’s Album of the Month for September)

Ahhh……Happy Mondays. Happy Days! I’ve just finished reading Shaun Ryder’s autobiography (you can probably imagine what literary genius is spread across those pages!) so felt the need to give my Happy Mondays back-catalogue a thorough going over again.

For me Pils n Thrills and Bellyaches is the high-water mark for The Mondays. However I think the debut Black Grape album possibly even eclipses that as my favourite from the The Ryders, Bez et al crew from Salford.

Unkle Dysfunktional was released to mixed reviews, and I have to say, given that the main driver behind this album was the lack of funds in Shaun Ryder’s bank account I wasn’t expecting too much. However, I was pleasantly surprised. This album is a fun, fresh sounding album that stands well in the Happy Mondays back catalogue. And if this does prove to be The Happy Mondays final encore then fair play. They’ll be ending on a high.

Are you guys fans of The Mondays, and if so, what do you make of this album?

3 thoughts on “Happy Mondays – Unkle Dysfunktional (2007)

  1. Warning! The Happy Mondays to me are like The Strokes to Mork!

    Y’see, Sean Ryder has always annoyed me. Comes across as stupid and can’t really sing. They’ve got a few songs I kinda like (probably from their debut) and the Manics cover of ‘Wrote for luck’ is great.

    Something tells me that Sean Ryder isn’t as dumb as he makes out. He was pretty successful after all. But nah, the Happy Mondays aren’t for me at all.

Leave a Reply

