Roddy Woomble – The Impossible Song & Other Songs (2011)

I recently uploaded an Idlewild album as my album of the month. I mentioned in that posting that lead singer, Roddy Woomble, has released a couple of solo albums. So it only seems fair to upload his most recent offering.

The Impossible Song and Other Songs (not the best title in the world) is the follow up to his debut, Secret is my Silence. Both are, in my opinion, excellent Scottish folk albums. Roddy’s warm tones sound excellent against the backdrop of traditional folk instruments. It’s the perfect music to sit and listen to on a cold winters night in front of the fire hugging a tumbler of whisky. Yup, there’s no doubt I’m in my late thirties now.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. I’m off to buy a pipe and a new pair of slippers.

Leave a Reply

