Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci – How I Long To Feel That Summer In My Heart (2001)


(Stu’s Album of the month for October)

Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci, apart from having a great scrabble scoring band name, were always on the periphery of the Indie Pop seen of the 90s and early 2000s. Not quite mainstream enough to make the big bucks, but still well regarded by most music lovers. I always liked GZM but found some of their wackier, psychedelic tracks jarred with me a little. I have a similar problem with some of the Flaming Lips tracks for the same reason (talking of Flaming Lips, I read they are about to release a 24 hour song. Wayne, you’re a crazy guy!).

Anyway, back to GZM. For the first time in years I recently listened to “How I long to feel that summer in my heart” and was instantly reminded of what great song-writing they were capable of. This is probably one of their more melodic albums, but still a lovely listen.

So, were you a fan of GZM and did you like this album? And as a side, given the fantastic name of the band, what other crazy band names are worth a mention. Pants Optional is a given (well done Manny!) but I’ll throw Half Man, Half Biscuit and Rebel Without Applause out there.

One thought on “Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci – How I Long To Feel That Summer In My Heart (2001)

  1. Oh man I love this album! Great choice Stu! I really loved Gorky’s for about 4 or 5 albums. Think they’re still all on the iPod but I hardly ever listen to them. I’ll definitely go back and have a listen now.

    I saw them at a really small club in Edinburgh about 10 years ago. I was in the first or second row (and there wasn’t much of a crush). They were superb.

    Yes – their name is fantastic. Also, their lead singer has a great name. Euro Childs. He’s also just released an album (and band) called Johnny, together with Norman Blake from Teenage Fanclub. I also LOVE the Fannies. Probably one of my top 10 bands of all time. And Norman Blake is by far their best singer and songwriter. So I’ll have to get hold of that one somehow.

    I somehow wouldn’t have picked you as a Gorky’s fan Stu. Nice one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

