Wilco – The Whole Love (2011)

Wilco - The Whole LoveKeith’s album of the month

It’s always kinda weird when one of your favourite bands releases another album. You want to like it, but will it actually be any good? You listen with a wee bit of trepidation, hoping.

So is it any good? After about 5 or 6 listens it’s growing on me. There’s a couple of tracks that stand out the first time – I Might and Standing O. Catchy songs. I Might is a bit quirky too but cool. The rest of them take a bit longer to get into but am starting to like it a lot now.

But I always find that that’s a good sign with albums. If you like the whole thing straight away then the appeal goes after a couple of weeks. I reckon I’ll play this one loads.

For me it’s better than most of ‘Wilco (the last album)’ and on a par with the much maligned Sky Blue Sky. Some critics have said it’s a bit like Summerteeth (my first and probably favourite Wilco album) and I tend to agree. Some weird songs, some poppy ones, some downbeat. And I really love Jeff Tweedy’s voice.

What do you think of this album?

5 thoughts on “Wilco – The Whole Love (2011)

  1. Top Man! I have been hoping to get my hands on this but haven’t quite got round to getting it. I really enjoyed their last offering so am really looking forward to listening to this. Will let you know what I make of it.

  2. Don’t worry. It doesn’t disappoint. 🙂 Listening to it again now. Sunny day music. Well at least some of it is. Or maybe that’s cos I’m sitting in the sun at the mo!

  3. Yup…..this is a goodie! To be honest I don’t think Wilco are capable of releasing a bad album and this certainly doesn’t disappoint. For me there aren’t as many catchy tracks on this as on Wilco (The Album) but it’s a solid record, and definitely a grower.

Leave a Reply

