Gotye – Making Mirrors (2011)


OK…..lets just get it out there now, this is a Pop album. Not only that but a synth-pop album with one foot firmly in the 80s. The Belgian-born Australian calls heavily on the influences of Peter Gabriel and The Police, so not being a big fan of either (or indeed of the 80s at all) it wasn’t an album I expected to spend any time listening to. But…..I love it….and I really don’t know why.

The stand out hit of the album is “Somebody That I used to Know” which is currently riding high in the Australian and NZ charts. The fact that Kathryn liked this track (albeit because she thought he sounded like Sting!) was the reason that I listened to, and subsequently, purchased this album. But “Eyes Wide Open” and “Easy Way Out” are two excellent tracks. And a change of pace sees “I Feel Better” sound straight like a track from one of my Dad’s Motown compilations.

Anyway, have a listen guys. Perhaps one of you can explain why I like this so much. Is it because summer is just around the corner or is it genuinely a really good Pop album? Oh, and Mork, try and not let the fact he sounds like Sting put you off too much! I know you’re a big fan šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Gotye – Making Mirrors (2011)

  1. This is a time and place album. As in, “I’m in Hell now. Please put me out of my misery!” I kid, I kid. I can see the appeal, esp. since I’m a child of the 80’s. But I don’t hear Peter Gabriel, Sting, or The Police. I do, however, hear heavy elements of 80’s mainstays like Level 42, Mr. Mister, and Cutting Crew (the voice, especially). But while those bands still get played relatively frequently by me, I don’t think I’ll be listening to this 30 years from now. Again, it’s all about context.

    Standout track for me: “Smoke And Mirrors”

  2. I hadn’t heard of this guy before I listened to the album but now I’m hearing and seeing him all the time for some reason…its polluting my mind…

    Seriously though I thought it was alright but probably not something that I’d listen to again.

    Have I ever told you how much I hate Sting???? šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

