Gary Numan – The Pleasure Principle (1979)


(Stu’s Album of the month for November)

If you’re only going to listen to one synthpop album in the foreseeable future this has to be it. Gary Numan was a true electronica\new wave pioneer and listening to this album it’s hard to imagine that it was released at the arse-end of the 70s rather than the mid-80s. As you guys know the synth-obsessed 80s aren’t high on my music playlist, but this is a true masterpiece. So much so that many of the tracks on here have been sampled or covered by a host of his modern-day contemporaries over the years (Basement Jaxx, Chicane and Daft Punk to name a few).

My Uncle was, and continues to be, a massive Gary Numan fan and he’d regularly have this album blasting out from the stereo when he was round sitting me and my brother back in the day. Perhaps that adds an extra layer of fondness for this album as even as a young lad (I was only 3 years old when this album was released) it had a quirky fun robotic sound to it that I liked.

Anyway, after uploading the synthpop Gotye album recently I realised I haven’t listened to this album for a couple of years. So it’s only prudent to give it a whirl and have you chaps join me for the ride…….IN CARS….da, da…….

2 thoughts on “Gary Numan – The Pleasure Principle (1979)

Leave a Reply

