Beirut – The Rip Tide (2011)

I’ve liked the previous two full-length Beirut albums, so was looking forward to this release. I’m glad to report it was everything I was hoping it would be.

They still don’t stray too far from that European Gypsy sound that has seen the last two releases sell well. For me The Flying Club Cup probably has some of their strongest tracks, but if anything I’d say that this is their most consistent album to date. There isn’t one weak track to be found here. Having said that at only 33 minutes spread over 9 tracks it’s fair to say that it could have been longer.

Probably the cheeriest and upbeat Beirut album so far…..and I like it.

I’d love to see these guys live and when I noticed they were playing San Fran BathHouse in the New Year I was delighted. Alas, all tickets have been sold out. Disappointing.

Anyway, What about you chaps? Do you like Beirut and what do you make of this album?

2 thoughts on “Beirut – The Rip Tide (2011)

  1. Listening to this now. I like it. Does seem a bit more ‘straightforward’ than the other stuff I’ve heard by him/them. Sounds like it could be a grower and take a fair few listens to get into it properly. Generally a good thing.

    • Yeah. I agree. It’s certainly their most accessible album and quite an easy listen compared to their others.

      Its really grown on me over the last couple of weeks and is in heavy rotation. I just wish it was a wee bit longer.

Leave a Reply

