Keith’s top 5 albums of 2011

Lykke Li - Wounded RhymesWhy top 5? To be honest, I could only find 8 to choose from and thought I’d try to be a bit picky about those ones. Not a great musical year for me, but still some crackers in there.

So here’s my list. For me the criteria was, ‘Did I get hold of it in 2011?’. It didn’t have to be released in 2011. There’s one obvious exception in this list.

It’d be great to hear all your top lists too. I know the year hasn’t finished yet so I may be a bit premature in writing this, but hey!

1. Lykke Li – Wounded Rhymes

Easily the album I’ve played the most this year. Great voice, strong songs. It all works well together as an album. Very different from her debut where her voice was much weaker. Cool drumming / rhythm section too.

2. Wilco – The Whole Love

You all know I love Wilco, but this is a great album. Perhaps could have had a few more weird songs on it in the middle, but overall another set of fantastic songs from Mr Tweedy.

3. The Rolling Stones – Exile on Main Street

Yep, definitely getting into the Stones a bit late. Never did like all their greatest hits etc. They’re good songs obviously, but Mick Jagger kinda annoys.

Somehow though Exile seems to work. Maybe it’s because there are no big hit singles on it, it just works better as an album.

4. Ryan Adams – Ashes & Fire

Finally he returns with a (mostly) consistent set of songs. He sings with so much passion. It’s just wonderful.

5. Liam Finn – FOMO

Even though I loved his debut I wasn’t expecting much from this. Thought he’d lose the plot a bit. But he changed tack, reinvented himself a bit and came up with the goods. Live show wasn’t as good as before – preferred him as a one (or two) man band.

Bubbling under

The Avett Brothers – I and love and you
John Grant – Queen of Denmark
The Vaccines – What did you expect from the Vaccines?

8 thoughts on “Keith’s top 5 albums of 2011

  1. You’re a hard man to please Mr Miller! Just 5 in a year of what I think has been a pretty decent year. Outrageous 🙂

    I’ve been thinking about my Top 10 over the last week so will post them up soon.

  2. A good list, Keith. None of these are on my list. And to be honest, I haven’t gotten around to listening to a couple of them (Wilco, Liam Finn). But you’ve given me food for thought about what I should be queuing up over the next few weeks.

  3. Pingback: Keith’s revised top 10 (Ten!) of the year | Try this album

Leave a Reply

