Stu’s Top 10 Albums of 2011

Unlike Keef I think this year has been a great year and have struggled to limit my Top 10 to only ten. Obviously the two post-Oasis albums were always going to be shoe-ins for me, but there have been some real crackers released this year.

So without further ado here is my Top 10:

10. KURT VILE – Smoke Ring for My Halo (U.S.A)
I’ve been meaning to upload this album for a while. A great album albeit a particularly melancholy listen. Clearly a very talented song-writer with a bright future ahead of him. If anyone wants me to upload more than happy to do so.

9. LIAM FINN – FOMO (New Zealand)
For me not as good as I’ll Be Lightening but still a good album. Some great tracks on there (The Struggle, Cold Feet to name two) but possibly a couple on there that aren’t as strong as they could be.

8. RYAN ADAMS – Ashes & Fire (U.S.A)
I agree with Keith here. A return to form when we were all wondering where he was going to go next.

7. THE TALLEST MAN ON EARTH – The Wild Hunt (Sweden)
I uploaded this earlier in the year and it continues to be on rotation. This was released in 2010, so strictly speaking, shouldn’t be in this list. However having purchased it this year, and being as good as it is, I had to add it in.

6. KASABIAN – Velociraptor (England)
A good album by Kasabian but not as good as either Kasabian or West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum in my opinion. I’m still enjoying it though and Days Are Forgotten and Re-Wired are classic Kasabian.

5. GOMEZ – Whatever’s On Your Mind (England)
A more mellow album by the lads from Southport. This is making for great summer listening.

4. BEADY EYE – Different Gear, Still Speeding (England)
Yeah, predictable I know. I love the rock and roll pace of this album. It has been in heavy rotation this year, and although my interest may drop a gear and slow down in coming years, I’m still digging it.

3. RODDY WOOMBLE – The Impossible Song & Other Songs (Scotland)
I’m a huge Idlewild\Roddy Woomble fan. Again this album has been played heavily this year. Although perhaps not quite as good as his solo debut (Secret is My Silence) this is still a great listen.

2. NOEL GALLAGHER’S HIGH FLYING BIRDS (England)
As mentioned in my review this album is definitely not Noel experimenting, but the catchy tracks are enough to keep me hooked. I guess….if it aint broke, don’t fix it!

1. BEIRUT – Rip Tide (U.S.A)
For me this record just gets better and better with every listen. It is definitely the most accessible Beirut album, but that’s fine by me. It doesn’t really have any stand-out tracks, more a consistently solid album. My favourite album of the year!

The albums below were all on my shortlist but for one reason or another didn’t quite make the cut:

ELBOW – Build a Rocket Boys
JOHN GRANT – Queen of Denmark
GOTYE – Making Mirrors
ARCTIC MONKEYS – Suck It And See
WILCO – The Whole Love

8 thoughts on “Stu’s Top 10 Albums of 2011

  1. Hey Stu. Good list!

    I guess the slight downside of this blog is the lack of surprise when it comes to our top 10 of the year. Nearly all of the albums have been mentioned before.

    Manny’s list should still prove a surprise though. 😉

  2. Indeed my list will surprise and amaze! I’m joking, of course. But I will note that both of your lists are a huge departure from mine. That might not be a surprise to you, Keith, since the two of us traditionally don’t overlap. But for Stu and me, our lists typically share a lot of common ground. That will not be the case this year. I’m not sure what that signifies. Perhaps fatherhood has mellowed our normally rambunctious Scot somewhat…?

    My list will be up soon.

    • I did think we’d have quite about of overlap on our lists. I’ll be interested to see if you throw any surprises into the mix though. Just try and leave the new Rihanna and Beyonce albums off your list please

      🙂

      • Have you not seen the news lately…you can go to jail (or get a very very very strong letter) for downloading Rihanna!!!

Leave a Reply

