Nick Drake – Five Leaves Left (1969)

Stu’s Album of the month for March

To be honest I could probably have chosen any one of Nick Drake’s records and it would have been a worthy album of the month. As it is i’d say if I had to choose one this would be my favourite album of his.

He is (or at least was) a song-writer in the true sense of the word. Great music with thought-provoking and memorable lyrics. Obviously a troubled genius, but I suppose that too often comes with the territory. I was a bit of a latecomer to his back catalogue and have only really invested some proper listening time to Nick Drake over the last 5 years or so.

Perhaps it’s the changing of the seasons, or perhaps I’m just turning into a moody old prick, but I’ve been listening to a lot of Nick Drake recently. It’s great stuff. It’s clear to see why Paul Weller has championed him over the years. I suppose the formula is easy……Paul Weller + An evening of Nick Drake music = Wild Wood!

So what do you make of his music. Depressing, melancholy, genius, relaxing ? All of the above?

One thought on “Nick Drake – Five Leaves Left (1969)

Leave a Reply

