Ride – Nowhere (1990)

Stu’s Album of the month for May

I’ve never really been a massive fan of shoegaze but somehow this album that has one foot firmly in that genre has always appealed to me. Perhaps it’s the jangly Stone Rosesesque guitar, or a time and place thing, but for me this still holds up as being one of the most under-rated albums (and best debuts) of the 90s.

Andy Bell obviously went on to better things with Oasis (yup indeedy!) but I’ve enjoyed the results of his songwriting and guitar work with Ride and Hurricane #1.
I hadn’t listened to this album in years but recently played it and, for me, it has well and truly stood the test of time.

So do we have any Ride fans in da house? Oh, and I recently discovered that there’s a new sub-genre called Nu-Gaze! Bands like The Horrors and M83 have been tagged under this label. Huh, who knew.

2 thoughts on “Ride – Nowhere (1990)

  1. Not really my kind of thing I’m afraid. To me it just sounds a lot like the Stone Roses but without the great songs. Maybe if I’d heard it when it came out I’d think differently. But now it just washes over me.

  2. Wasn’t really a fan at the time but got into them a bit later on. Funnily enough I realised that I didn’t have any of there albums after my ipod death so I got them all again last year and gave them a good airing.

    Nowhere is def there best album but I probably side with Hurricane #1 over Ride.

Leave a Reply

