Alabama Shakes – Boys & Girls (2012)

Hadn’t heard of these guys before I seen them on Jools Holland a few weeks ago….since then I am hearing about them left, right and centre.

First thing that made me want to get this album was the passion in their live performance. Think it was the first track on the album ‘Hold On’ that they first played and it was played and sung with real emotion…top quality vocals by the way!

Having listened to the album a couple of times now, I just love how simple the tracks come across…nothing complicated. Definitely a throw back to soul / buses / funk sounds. Could easily be Al Green or Otis Redding songs.

Favourite tracks are ‘Hold On’, ‘Hang Loose’ and ‘Be Mine’.

What you guys think?

2 thoughts on “Alabama Shakes – Boys & Girls (2012)

  1. Still making my mind up about this one. Listened to it a few times and the first couple of songs are great. But somehow I seem to lose interest in it halfway through. Maybe it just needs a few more listens…

  2. Yeah. I think I’d agree with you there Keef. I’ve had a few listens and not really doing it for me at the moment. It’s always good to hear some good old Soul\Blues music, but probably not enough here to keep me listening to this album long term.

Leave a Reply

