Dr. John – Locked Down (2012)

Stu’s Album of the month for December

Keith’s album of the month acts as a nice segue into my AOTM. Dr John has been around for a loooong time and although I’d heard of him I can’t say I have much of his back catalogue. However, I read the review of this album in Uncut a couple of months ago so thought I’d give it a punt. One of the main reasons being that Dan Auerbach is producer and guitarist on the album.

I can’t say I was disappointed as the funky voodoo music on this offering is outstanding. Despite Dr John’s advancing years (he’s 72!) he still manages to deliver raw blues as it should sound, and Auerbach’s guitar adds an extra layer of modern blues-rock to the album. Quality stuff!

Revolution and My Children, My Angels are stand out tracks for me. Anyway, what do you chaps make of it?

One thought on “Dr. John – Locked Down (2012)

  1. I love this album…had it on heavy rotation for a while now. Think first I heard of it was Bradley Wiggins dropping it in lots of interviews around the time of the Olympics so thought it must be good…It will definitely be up there on my top 10 of 2012.

Leave a Reply

