Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of the City (2013)

Vampire Weekend - Modern Vampires of the City
I know that some of you aren’t huge Vampire Weekend fans, but I’ve gotta try! This (their 3rd) album is a bit different from the first two. Gone is the African guitar sound that was all over their first one. It’s still obviously them though.

This album is perfectly crafted: thought through; well sequenced and paced. Strangely the first song sounds like it should be ending the album – a slower paced song. But then the last song sounds perfect as an ending song. Maybe that’s why when I finish listening to the album I inevitably go straight back to the first song. I seem to listen to this album all the way through every time. A good sign.

All that might make it sound boring and contrived but it’s really not. It’s a great pop album. Listen to Diane Young, and if you don’t like that, then fair enough!

Definite contender for my album of the year already.

4 thoughts on “Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of the City (2013)

  1. Its a great album…and I really like Vampire weekend. Wasn’t a fan of Contra as much Vampire Weekend, but definitely enjoy this ablum.

  2. This is the first Vampire Weekend album I have managed to listen to in its entirety. Damning with faint praise? Why yes, don’t mind if I do. I’ve never liked Vampire Weekend and have never been able to get beyond track 4 of either of their previous albums. So yeah….an improvement 🙂

  3. Pingback: Keith’s top 10 for 2013 | Try this album

Leave a Reply

