Editors “The Weight of Your Love” (2013)

I loved Editors’ last album, so naturally I had to get this one as soon as it came out. If you don’t feel like reading the rest of the post, know this. I like it. A lot.

Over the past six weeks, my opinion on this one has changed a few times. From the start, the opening track blew me away. “The Weight” is definitely one the best tracks they’ve ever written. I was so smitten by it, I found myself doing something I haven’t done since grade school: listen to a single album track over and over again.

A small digression…

You guys might not remember this. But back in the days of tape cassettes, obsessing over a single song of an album — constantly rewinding the tape to the same spot, having a strong magnet rub against the same section over and over again — was bound to eff up your tape. That reality, and the ridiculous guilt I felt when favoring one song so much more than the others (honestly, I felt like I was cheating on the rest of the album!) properly trained me to appreciate an entire album. This small insight into my obviously damaged psyche should therefore give you an idea of how unusual constantly listening to “The Weight” was for me.

Anyways…

After obsessing on Track 1 until I had my fill, I moved on. Everything was going fine until I hit the abomination that is Track 4: “What Is This Thing Called Love.” Pure shite, fellas. Just…no. It sounds like they’re channelling Survivor from the 1980s. Please understand. I liked Survivor. But I liked them in 1983, not 2013. And 1983 is where that band should stay.

Unfortunately, “WITTCL” is so shockingly, horrifyingly bad to me, it took the rest of the album down a notch. It stayed that way for a couple of weeks. But I eventually came back, and I persevered. Take away Track 4, and you got yourself a very, very good album. Highly recommended.

Outstanding Tracks:

  • “Formaldehyde” — why is track 7 of every album so good? Is it a record company rule or something?
  • “The Weight”
  • “Bird of Prey”
4 thoughts on “Editors “The Weight of Your Love” (2013)

  1. I agree. This album rocks. I’m a fan of Editors and this may well be my favourite album of theirs. Not as moody as some of their previous releases, but no bad thing. To be honest In “This Light and On This Evening” is probably my least favourite, so for me this is a return to form.

    I remember we had a conversation about tracks 3 vs 7 on albums. Although both are awesome track 3 just edges it for me yet again. I must be a track 3 kind of guy.

  2. I didn’t like this album much when I gave it a go a while back. Thought that every track sounded like they were trying to copy a different band and not pulling it off. Think I gave up about track 7!!

    But as you chaps like it so much I’ll have to give it another go.

    Looking forward to seeing you soonish too Manny.

  3. Pingback: Manuel’s Top Ten of 2013 | Try this album

Leave a Reply

