Frightened Rabbit – Pedestrian Verse (2013)

Stu’s Album of the month for Sept

I purchased this LP a few months ago and it has rarely been too far from my turntable since. This band hail from my old stomping ground of the Scottish Borders. Selkirk is certainly not known for its musical prowess but with Frightened Rabbit they have come up trumps.

Pedestrian Verse is their fourth album and has finally given them some semblance of critical acclaim which has edged them into the mainstream. Although their consistently strong back catalogue should have ensured this happened sooner in my opinion. They have been labelled “The Scottish Arcade Fire”, but not being a particularly big fan of AF I don’t really hear it. Frightened Rabbit are much better!

Standout tracks for me are: The Woodpile, Late March Death March and State Hospital. Great moody tunes with great lyrics. Anyway, have a listen and let me know what you think.

2 thoughts on “Frightened Rabbit – Pedestrian Verse (2013)

  1. I didn’t really enjoy this the first time I listened but found it alright at the second time. Still think they sound like a cross between Biffy Clyro and Idlewild.

    Best band name of the yeat though!!

Leave a Reply

