Tired Pony – The Ghost of the Mountain (2013)

FrontWow – I did not see this album coming. Not only didn’t know about it until it was released but didn’t expect too much from it.

Needless to say this is up there for one of my albums of the year. I wasn’t a big fan of the first album but maybe I just need to relisten to it.

For me Lightbody’s vocals are cracking that makes the songs come to life. All things come at once for example – you can feel the pain in those lyrics with his croking / emotional vocals.

Not usually a fan of supergroups but I think this is one of the exceptions for me: Snow Patrol, REM, Belle & Sebastian and Iain Archer! Can’t beat that mix!

2 thoughts on “Tired Pony – The Ghost of the Mountain (2013)

  1. I thought “The Place We Ran From” was a pleasant enough album, if a little ho-hum in parts. I’d say this is definitely a better album, although my only gripe would be that it sounds too much like a Snow Patrol album. Probably an obvious comment but I would have liked a bit more input from the other parties involved. Either way, its an enjoyable album with some nice tracks.

  2. This isn’t going to be an album I’ll be reflecting upon 20 years from now. But it’s a good listen. I’m always a sucker for Gary Lightbody’s voice. And the title track is outstanding.

Leave a Reply

