Biffy Clyro – Opposites (2013)

Biffy Clyro - OppositesBiffy Clyro have a very silly name. Silly enough to make me ignore them for probably 6 or 7 years, despite knowing that the critics were starting to say good things about them. I just dismissed them.

But a couple of months ago, I was swapping music recommendations with my 15 year old nephew Callum (a very cool and fun thing to do). He said I should give them a try – the album Puzzle. I stuck it on Spotify and eventually got round to listening to it when I got back to NZ.

You can guess the rest probably. Their latest 3 albums ended up on constant repeat for about a week or so. What are they like? A Scottish Foo Fighters is what first came to mind, but with better songs (and I kind of like Dave Grohl and co). Some great riffs and always a top tune thrown in that you’ll be humming after one or two listens. My kind of rock music!

This is their most recent album and it’s a double. I could easily have picked Puzzle or Only Revolutions as they’re all pretty much on par with each other. But this is a good place to start. Let me know what you think.

And Dave – if you’re out there somewhere – I think you’d like this one!

Best track – Stingin’ Belle

5 thoughts on “Biffy Clyro – Opposites (2013)

  1. Their last 3 albums are indeed all great, although I think Only Revolutions just edges it for me. However, I’ve been listening to Opposites a lot this year so it may well feature in my Top 10 list. As for their name……..I like the story that they named themselves after a band member who had a Cliff Richard pen. On a drunken night Cliffy Biro became Biffy Clyro! Awesome…….

  2. Pingback: Keith’s top 10 for 2013 | Try this album

  3. Y’all have been holding out on me. How come I’m only learning of these guys now? Despite its many catchy tunes, it took me a few listens to get into this album. But I’m really enjoying it now. And while the parallels to Foo Fighters are there, to me they are without a doubt Collective Soul’s modern-day doppelgangers.

    And coincidentally enough, they will be playing at my favorite Portland venue 10 Feb. Super small capacity — 300 people max. Who wants to meet up with me? My couch is a comfy place to crash for a few days.

  4. Oh Manny. You do know how to make me jealous. I have to say I felt the same about this band. How come no-one else told me about them before?

    See you in about 7 weeks then….

Leave a Reply

