Poliça “Shulamith” (2013)

As some of you know, these past few years for me have been a desperate attempt to escape the morass of folk-based acts that have saturated the market. I would never accuse bands like Band of Horses, The Civil Wars, or Mumford & Sons of being derivative. But there’s no doubt I grew tired of the genre. And my ears were longing to hear something new, something different.

And then an awesome thing happened. Along came a flood of electronic-based acts inspired by the 80’s New Wave movement. Awwwww yiss! Manny found an enormous tap of great bands to stroke his musical sweet spot. And y’all are now gonna have to bear with me as I share as many as I can with you.

With two albums, Poliça has entered the pantheon of strong, female-led electronic acts that exist today. They’re a decidedly less cheery, more introspective lot than some of the others [e.g., Metric, Bat for Lashes, School of Seven Bells, Phantogram (more on Phantogram another time)]. But this just means they’re more substantive, right? Whatever the case, I dig this album’s vibe. If you also like it, I would recommend their first, “Give You the Ghost.” I think it’s equally as good. And an even stronger collection of morose loveliness.

We all know music is cyclical. Some styles take a little longer to recirculate than others. All that’s needed is a little patience, and echoes of the past will eventually be heard again.

…I just feel bad for that poor bastard who’s waiting for the next Beethoven.

4 thoughts on “Poliça “Shulamith” (2013)

  1. I really, really like this album! It’s dreamy but brooding at the same time. A trippy, druggy mix of electronica that will certainly see me hunt down their debut album. I’ve listened to a lot of electronic\trip-hop\synth-pop this year (possibly for the same reasons you listed above Manny), so this sits very nicely indeed.

    However, rather than hearing the 80s New Wave influence I hear early-mid 90s electronica along the lines of Morcheeba, Massive Attack and Portishead featuring heavily throughout.

    Thanks for posting Manny. This gets a big thumbs up from me.

  2. I agree with you about them being influenced by more recent electronica. No question. But every river has a source, right?

    Glad you’re enjoying it. I really like it, too. Wait for my next entry, though. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Manuel’s Top Ten of 2013 | Try this album

  4. Just started to listen to my backlog of music now I’m back on the train…and I really like this album. Never listened to them before but really like her vocals.

Leave a Reply

