David Gray “White Ladder” (1998)

Manuel’s Album of the Month for December

This here’s not a super hip or sexy choice for Album of the Month. However, when the songs from this album are randomly played on my iPod, I am always caught off guard by how much I still like them.

The drum-n-bass that accompanies “Please Forgive Me” firmly establishes the era in which this album was released. It has been fifteen years, my friends. Fifteen “oh-how-they-passed-so-quickly” years since this was released. Unfortunately for Mr. Gray, he was never able to re-capture the magic of this one. But he did manage to become one of the most popular musicians ever, at least for a short while.

I say this album has stood the test of time. Do you agree? Or was this album too mainstream for you to have ever given it a chance?

One thought on “David Gray “White Ladder” (1998)

  1. I didn’t expect to see good old Wobbly-Head Gray mentioned here. This album was one of the few that we could play at family Sunday dinners when I was back visiting my parents of a weekend. Such is the mainstream appeal and inoffensive nature of the record.

    Still a pleasant enough listen, but this record was definitely a victim of its own success. It got thrashed over the airwaves to the point of being annoying, and if I had a dollar for every time I heard a David Gray track in some second rate Rom-Com (Betty makes me watch them) I’d be a very rich man.

    If you haven’t heard it yet check out his 1994 release, “Flesh”. It’s raw, under-produced, bitter-sweet and quite different to his saccharin, middle of the road offerings of the 2000s. “Flesh” is probably the only David Gray album I still play from time to time.

Leave a Reply

