Ocean Colour Scene – B-sides, Seasides & Freerides

FrontI was listening to the Gaslight Anthem’s b-sides album which made me think of my favourite b-sides album ever.

It is a tough call between Oasis’s Masterplan and this album but I think OCS just shade it for me.

I remember buying the deluxe limited addition version of this album when it came out…I was and still am pretty big OCS, though their recent albums haven’t been as good as their height in the 90s.

Some great tracks on here including acoustic version of Day We Caught the Train and The Circle, plus the obligatory Day Tripper, which was always the last song on there set.

I went to see them at the Ulster Hall in Belfast just after Marchin’ Already was released. Probably one of the best gigs ever…plus another time at the Barrowlands they played for about 3 hours with 3 encores!

Awesome band!

 

One thought on “Ocean Colour Scene – B-sides, Seasides & Freerides

  1. OCS! OCS! OCS! Love them and this is a cracking addition for any OCS completist. I’ve seen them live at least 5 or 6 times and they have never disappointed. One gig even included a full scale punch-up on stage in Edinburgh when some idiot jumped up and attacked Steve Cradock. Much angered retribution was dished out by the band to great delight.

    I’d agree that Masterplan is still the best B-Sides release. However, I’d throw the recent Elbow “Dead In The Boot” release and Suede’s “Sci-Fi Lullabies” as worthy contenders.

Leave a Reply

